envoy510

The chocolate ration is being increased to 25 grammes per week.

I love my Brother MFC 9700, but…

All you Brother fans out there on Windows XP (sp2), download and run filemon to see the repeated access by BrmfRsmg.exe (the Brother Resource Manager) of the file C:\WINDOWS\BrmfBidi.ini. Next, start the task manager, select the Processes tab, then on the View menu Select Columns… and check I/O Read Bytes. My machine had been up a few weeks, and I had printed maybe 10 pages on the printer, and I almost fell out of my chair when I saw that BrmfRsmg.exe had read more than 80,000,000,000 bytes. 80 billion bytes of data. WTF?

One response to “I love my Brother MFC 9700, but…

  1. Ron October 30, 2007 at 8:37 am

    This response is a bit delayed, but I was reassured to see that someone else was alarmed by the behavior of the Brother MFC-9700 files. I was using procmon and my 9700 wasn’t even connected to the PC. Still, the vast majority of process, file, and registry events generated by my system were associated with BrmfRsmg.exe — a file I always have worried about because it’s always running and I don’t have any idea what it does or why. After seeing the billions of Brother bytes of data on my own PC, I decided to get rid of all the Brother software and drivers and reinstall. Then I was reminded that the Brother drivers for some reason are practically incompatible with Windows XP and it takes me about two days to sort out the mess. This is a good multifunction device when it’s working, but its software is clearly wacky. In sum, I have no idea WTF is up with BrmfRsmg.exe but am glad I’m not the only one who wonders.

Leave a Reply

