envoy510

The chocolate ration is being increased to 25 grammes per week.

Recommendation: Torchwood (the BBC TV series)

Just finished with the 4th installment of Torchwood: Miracle Day.  I absolutely loved the last series (what they call seasons across the pond).  The previous series, Torchwood: Children of Earth, was pretty good, too.  The first two series were OK.  Each series the production values were better and better.

I think it’s possible to start with the 3rd series, but you should probably read the synopsis of the episodes before starting series 3.  Context is definitely important.

I would describe Torchwood has a cross between Fringe and a sitcom, especially the first two series, which are mostly filmed on a single set, though it’s much longer than your average sitcom, at an hour per episode.

I will say that it took me a long time to get through the first series.  I felt the production values were too shabby and I felt the character development wasn’t that good.  It is a spin off from Dr. Who, so maybe there’s some context from that show that I’m missing.  (There’s another spin off, The Sarah Jane Adventures, which I’m considering trying.)  Once I got to series 3, I was chewing threw episodes.

Leave a Reply

