envoy510

The chocolate ration is being increased to 25 grammes per week.

Why I hate Quicken

I’ve used Quicken for many years.  At least 15 years, but I can’t really remember.  What I can remember is that every version of Quicken gets worse.  Every time I’m forced to upgrade because they remotely turn off downloading transactions from my banks, I get angry.  Every time I start the new version and it’s no better than the previous version, I get angry.  Every time I realize they merely changed the user interface around to make it seem like I got something new for my $39.99, I get angry.

And, every time I reconcile my accounts and there are missing transactions (but they’re in my register), I get really pissed off.  This bug has been around for a while.  Quicken know about it.  How hard could it be to fix this?  The hypothesis is that the transaction created by a download from my bank is messed up.  If that’s it, then how hard could it be to do a little data validation and correction?!  Quicken, get off your ass and do something other than window dressing.  Make your software better rather than churning the UI so you can sell the next version!

One of these days I might make the big push to switch to GNU Cash.  I haven’t had the energy to really start the conversion project, though.  Too many other things in life.  If I get pissed off enough, I will, though.

One response to “Why I hate Quicken

  1. lynn October 8, 2012 at 2:55 am

    I hate QUICKEN, too! Just want a place to look at my balances.

Leave a Reply

